fbpx
logo

Mission

RIFA is leading and engaging the community in the fight against hunger.

RIFA IS…

A local, faith-based organization that has been part of the Jackson community since 1976.

Vision

To lead and engage the community in the fight against hunger. 

Mission

To reach out with the love of Christ to help people in need by providing physical and spiritual nourishment.

Safe place

As much as we are all about fighting hunger, we are a safe place for people to find community and experience Christ.

Why we exist

Because food insecurity is a major problem in Jackson-Madison County. According to Feeding America, 24.3% of children in Madison County are food insecure. United Way of West Tennessee reports that 48% of all households in Jackson live in poverty or earn just above the federal poverty level but not enough to make ends meet. 

RIFA is where you can be the hands and feet of Christ in your own backyard.

Our History

Our History

RIFA has been serving Jackson since 1976

  • 1976 – RIFA was established with Rev. Gary Scheidt as the first Executive Director. The office was located in Jones Hall at the old Union University in downtown Jackson.
  • 1977-1978 – RIFA coordinated Food Fairs in the parking lot of the old West Jackson Baptist Church, which was the beginning of today’s Farmers Market.
  • 1992 – RIFA moved to the old Clean Linen building at 219 N. Highland Avenue.
  • 1996 – The RIFA Thrift Store opens.
  • 1996The local Community Soup Kitchen became one of RIFA’s ministries.
  • 2005 – Snack Backpack ministry started with one school and 25 children served.
  • 2005 – RIFA begins operating an independent Food Bank.
  • 2005 – First annual Canstruction fundraiser held at the Jackson Fairgrounds.
  • 2009 – Lisa Tillman becomes Executive Director of RIFA.
  • 2012 – Moved to the former Nando Jones building at 133 Airways Boulevard.
  • 2014 – Canstruction moved to the Civic Center on its 10th anniversary.
  • 2014 – RIFA was named the Jackson Chamber’s Nonprofit of the Year.
  • 2015 – RIFA graduates from the Alliance for Nonprofit Excellence’s Program for Nonprofit Excellence (PNE).
  • 2019 – RIFA started the Bus Stop Cafe.
  • 2022 – RIFA distributed 516,002 meals.

 

Our Staff

Lisa Tillman Executive Director ltillman@rifajackson.org
Shaun Powers Director of Operations spowers@rifajackson.org
Denice Walton Director of Development dwalton@rifajackson.org
Thomas Brown Senior Warehouse Manager tbrown@rifajackson.org
Tina Hernandez Office Administrator thernandez@rifajackson.org
Britani Cornelius Administrative Coordinator bcornelius@rifajackson.org
Cheyenne Robinson Community Outreach Coordinator crobinson@rifajackson.org
Erin Mount Development Coordinator emount@rifajackson.org
Tracie Barnard Volunteer Coordinator tbarnard@rifajackson.org
Kristen Kasper Communications Coordinator kkasper@rifajackson.org
Mary Roebuck Receptionist mroebuck@rifajackson.org
Abby Allen Receptionist aallen@rifajackson.org
LeeAnn Minard Donations Processor lminard@rifajackson.org
Wade Stanley Warehouse Associate wstanley@rifajackson.org
Jason Jacobus Soup Kitchen Manager jjacobus@rifajackson.org
Jennifer Ortiz Weekend Soup Kitchen Manager jortiz@rifajackson.org
Derbra Utley Thrift Store Manager dutley@rifajackson.org
Shaka Smith Thrift Store Assistant Manager ssmith@rifajackson.org
Tommie Brown Thrift Store Clerk twarrenbrown@rifajackson.org
Brooke Fewell Thrift Store Clerk bfewell@rifajackson.org
Evelyn Henning Thrift Store Clerk ehenning@rifajackson.org
Mary Lockett Bus Stop Cafe Manager mlockett@rifajackson.org

Our Board

Mandy White Board President Jackson Chamber
SVP Economic Development
Cassandra Fuller Vice President Jackson Energy Authority
Creative Services Coordinator
Rebecca White Treasurer Retired from LyondellBasell
Plant Manager
Ginger Pipkin Secretary FTB Advisors
Wealth Management Client Specialist
Derick Tisdale Past President Jackson Police Department
Deputy Chief of Police Patrol Operations
Jason Bates Toyota Motor Manufacturing of TN
Senior Manager
Rev. Courtney Bowen First Presbyterian Church
Associate Pastor
Dan Brooks Retired from Macy’s
Community Volunteer
Gary Carter Northwestern Mutual
Certified Financial Planner
Rhonda Heard Jackson-Madison County School System
Community Engagement Coordinator
Randy Pierson Fellowship Bible Church
Executive Pastor of Operations
Dr. Janice Pittman Union University
Associate Professor of Management
Chad Shankle Hometowne Capital Management
CEO
Joseph "JC" Shelley Globe Life
Insurance Agent
Dr. Wayne Smith Pilgrim Rest Missionary Baptist Church
Pastor
Swee Har Wilcox DuroBag
Operations Manager
Scotty Lee Wolfe Simmons Bank
AVP/Branch Manager
Aaron Cooper Honorary Board Member Jackson Energy Authority
HR Supervisor
Amy Hastings Elizer Honorary Board Member University of Tennessee Extension
Extension Specialist, Hardeman Healthy Outreach

Help us meet 80,000 Meals!

Donate Today!